Five Fun Things All Nerds Should Check Out

Those of us who love Dungeons and Dragons, video games, science-fiction, and things of that ilk should check out these awesome ideas. We enjoy fun new activities too. So here’s a list of some of my favorite things that I’ve found recently:

  1. D&D Beyond

    Wizards of the Coast, the creators of Dungeons and Dragons, have created a the beginnings of a digital platform to put all of your D&D related information. This includes tools like a spell compendium, character creation, and Dungeon Master Campaign help. They basically took all of the 5e rules and made them digitally available as well. It’s in Beta right now, so not all of these tools are available at the moment. But they will be! Not only will this be helpful for players to have digital character sheets and spells, but I can already here Dungeon Masters across the internet sig in relief. Running a D&D campaign is difficult, especially when you have ten different documents on your computer just with the story, NPCs, and location description. Hopefully the end product is going to be user friendly.

  2. Oxygen Not Included

    Personally, I’m a fan of Markiplier’s game videos on YouTube, and recently he began to play Oxygen Not Included. That’s how I heard about the game. This game is a simulation, where you try to keep a space-colony full of adorable “copies” or “duplicates” alive. It’s in Alpha and it already looks great and seems to play pretty darn well. You have to keep oxygen levels up, grow food, keep things hygienic, decorate, and generate power among other things to keep your people alive.

  3. Mass Effect Andromeda

    I’ve been posting a lot about Andromeda on this blog, and I will most likely continue to do so. Despite there being a lot of negative reviews, I love Andromeda. I have not finished it yet though. I’m most definitely biased because Mass Effect holds a special place in my heart. If you enjoyed the other Mass Effect Games then just know that Andromeda is my favorite one out of all of them. If you haven’t played Mass Effect then do it. I highly recommend it, especially for those of you who enjoy RPGs with a great story and wonderful characters!

  4. Giant In The Playground

    I personally love the Roleplaying Game Forum. That is where I get a lot of inspiration and ideas for my Dungeons and Dragons campaign. The website was created to mainly to promote and sell The Order of the Stick comics. I generally use the site for a source of creative thought.

  5. The Name of the Wind Book Series

    If anyone has seen the author of The Name of the Wind, Patrick Rothfuss, on Critical Role (he was a guest a few times) the you understand how much thought he puts into his characters. To be honest I’m only on the first book even though the second book has already been out for a bit. Despite that, I feel very solid on putting this book series on my list because I love the way Rothfuss writes and creates these intricate stories. Throughout the book it feels like the story is one that is a part of a bigger world. I’m not quite sure how to describe it. It feels like this is one story within a world that feels legitimate and real.

 

I hope you enjoy checking out at least one of these things! Let me know what you think in the comments below!

-Sabrina Arnold (iwouldliketonerd)

Leave a Reply

